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In February of  this year, I proposed a plan to give our high school graduates the opportunity to earn a two-
year certificate or degree from a state community college or technical college absolutely free of  tuition and 
mandatory fees. The General Assembly approved the plan in April, and we’re in the process of  making sure 
the program is up and running for the graduating classes of  2015 across our state. 

The Tennessee Promise is part of  our larger Drive to 55 campaign, which is an initiative to ensure that 
55 percent of  our population holds a certificate or degree by 2025. Attaining this goal is key to our state’s 
workforce readiness and economic future. The Tennessee Promise is a last-dollar scholarship that covers 
the remaining tuition and mandatory fees after all other financial aid and can be used at any of  Tennessee’s 
13 community colleges or 27 colleges of  applied technology. It can also be used to cover a portion of  
tuition at our public and private four-year institutions that offer an associate’s degree. 

High school seniors will be able to apply for the Tennessee Promise through November 1st. This 
timeframe means that it is important to communicate with high school seniors almost immediately about 
how the Promise scholarship works and how they can submit an application. 

We know that you, our school counselors, are one of  the most valuable resources, if  not in some cases 
the only resource, for students to make decisions about their future in college and career. Our hope is that 
this guide will be helpful to you in communicating to your students and their families about the Tennessee 
Promise and how they can take advantage of  it.

Thank you for your continued work and dedication to our students. You are helping to create opportunity 
for Tennessee students and their families.

Sincerely,

Bill Haslam

Governor of  Tennessee
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Tennessee Promise is one of the cornerstone 

initiatives of Governor Haslam’s Drive to 55. 

The Drive to 55 is a mission to increase the 

percentage of working adults with some kind 

of postsecondary degree or credential from 32 

percent at present to 55 percent in the year 

2025. Researchers at Georgetown University 

predict that 55 percent will be necessary in 

that year in order to meet the demands of the 

workplace. Currently, Tennessee ranks 43rd in 

the nation in higher education attainment. The 

Drive to 55 is not just about higher education, 

but it is critical for workforce and economic 

development in Tennessee.  It is a drive to reduce 

unemployment and improve quality of life. 

In order to achieve 55 percent, Tennessee must 

drastically expand and improve student access to 

and success in higher education.  The following 

five strategies serve as the framework for the 

Drive to 55 and its initiatives:

THE PRIMARY STRATEGIES 
FOR DRIVE TO 55 ARE:

1.	 Get students ready. Reduce the need for 
remedial courses; boost participation in early 
college opportunities.

2.	 Get students in. Reduce financial barriers, 
especially to community and technical 
colleges. Improve mentoring and guidance for 
students.

3.	 Get students out. Building on the success 
of the Complete College Tennessee Act 
of 2010, enhance programs to increase 
graduation rates.

4.	 Finish. Create new opportunities for the 
900,000 to 1 million adults with some college 
but no degree.

5.	 Create alignment and accountability. 
Ensure state agencies, educational institutions, 
and employers work together to identify skills 
gaps of the future and proactively fill them. 
Furthermore, measure investments to increase 
accountability and value.

Tennessee Promise is a critical piece of the Drive 
to 55 effort to get students to college and provide 
them with the tools to get a certificate or degree. 
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What is Tennessee Promise?
Tennessee Promise is a financial aid program offering Tennessee 
high school graduates two years of tuition-free community or 
technical college beginning with the Class of 2015. The program 
provides eligible students a last-dollar scholarship, meaning the 
scholarship will cover tuition and mandatory fees not covered 
by the Pell grant, the Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship 
(TELS), or the Tennessee Student Assistance Award (TSAA). While 
removing students’ financial burden is key, a critical component 
of Tennessee Promise is the individual guidance each participant 
will receive from a mentor as the student enters higher education. 
Local partnering organizations will ensure that all Tennessee 
Promise students have a mentor. Students must participate with a 
partnering organization to access Tennessee Promise dollars.

Student Eligibility
To be eligible to receive a Tennessee Promise Scholarship, a 
student must:

•	 Be a Tennessee resident

•	 Graduate from an eligible Tennessee high school, complete 
a Tennessee home school program, or, prior to reaching 19 
years of age, obtain a GED or HiSET diploma

•	 Enroll in an eligible college or program and attend full-time 
the fall after graduation (students attending a TCAT may 
enroll the summer following their high school graduation)

•	 Complete the Tennessee Promise application at www.
TNPromise.gov

•	 Meet all deadlines and requirements before enrolling

Additional information about student eligibility can be found on 
pages 6 and 7. 

Program Requirements
In order for students to participate in the program, they must meet 
several requirements and deadlines:

•	 November 1: Apply for the Tennessee Promise 
scholarship at www.TNPromise.gov

•	 February 15: Complete the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) at www.fafsa.gov

•	 By March 1: Attend first mandatory meeting coordinated 
by partnering organization

•	 By May 31: Attend second mandatory meeting coordinated 
by partnering organization

•	 In the spring: Apply to and register for classes at 
an eligible institution (partnering organizations may 
recommend applying by February 15)

•	 Before start of term: Complete 8 hours of community 
service by the first day of class (partnering organizations 
may have earlier deadlines to complete the community service)

Once in the program, students must do the following to retain their 
scholarship:

•	 Maintain satisfactory academic progress – that is the 
equivalent of a 2.0 GPA at a community college or four-year 
institution or satisfactory academic progress at a Tennessee 
College of Applied Technology

•	 Complete the Tennessee Promise application for renewal by 
November 1 

•	 Complete 8 hours of community service per term enrolled, to 
be completed before the start of the term 

•	 Complete the FAFSA by February 15 every year of the program

Administration of Funds
The Tennessee Promise scholarship will be administered by the 
Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation (TSAC), while the 
mentoring and community service portions of the program will be 
coordinated by the partnering organization designated by each 
county’s mayor or executive. Once a student applies for Tennessee 
Promise through www.TNPromise.gov, his or her respective 
partnering organization will be responsible for reaching out 
regarding program requirements and mentor assignments.  

Students will never directly receive cash from Tennessee Promise. 
Once Pell, TELS, and TSAA have been applied, TSAC will send 
scholarship funds covering the remaining costs of tuition and 
mandatory fees directly to institutions for students who have met 
all eligibility requirements.

OVERVIEW OF TENNESSEE PROMISE
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Partnering Organization
Tennessee Promise’s mentoring component distinguishes the 
program from any other state financial aid program across the 
country. Partnering organizations, designated by the mayor of each 
Tennessee county, will work with the TSAC to administer Tennessee 
Promise, including the provision of student mentoring. Partnering 
organizations will: 

•	 Provide mentoring services 

•	 Conduct required Tennessee Promise meetings for 
students*

•	 Approve and report community service performed by 
students 

•	 Provide notification to TSAC when Tennessee Promise 
participants have met all scholarship requirements

•	 Establish local Tennessee Promise advisory councils to build 
a network of advocates for the program

A list of approved Tennessee Promise partnering organizations is 
located below.

*Only partnering organizations can conduct the required meetings. Counselors 
and school staff are encouraged to attend the meetings.

Community Service
Community service is an important component of Tennessee 
Promise. A student participating in the program must perform a 
minimum of eight community service hours per academic term, 
prior to the beginning of each term. Partnering organizations must 
provide students with community service guidelines in advance and 
are responsible for documenting and reporting that students meet 
the service requirement.

For their community service, students may choose any activity 
benefiting their community provided it fits within the guidelines set 
by their partnering organization and it does not fall into one of the 
following categories:

•	 Community service performed prior to high school 
graduation

•	 Work resulting in payment or remuneration of any kind

•	 Work directly benefiting family members

For more information on community service requirements or 
opportunities, contact your county’s local partnering organization.

PARTNERING ORGANIZATION INFORMATION

tnAchieves

Krissy DeAlejandro

krissy@tnachieves.org

865-621-9223

Ayers Foundation

Susan Rhodes

susan.rhodes@theayersfoundation.org

931-589-3660

Regional Economic Development Initiative (REDI)

Joe Barker

jwbarker@swtdd.org

731-668-6402
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Summary of Rules and 
Regulations
The Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program rules were adopted 
by the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation in order to 
implement Public Chapter 900, the Tennessee Promise Scholarship 
Act of 2014. 

The Tennessee Promise Scholarship: 

•	 Provides financial assistance to offset tuition and mandatory 
fees associated with pursuing postsecondary education after 
all other gift aid has been credited to tuition and mandatory 
fees. “Gift aid” is defined as Pell, TELS, and TSAA awards.

•	 Shall not include fees charged for the Regents Online Degree 
Program, specific programs of study, books, or supplies even 
if such fees are considered necessary for enrollment.

Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program 
Participants Must: 

•	 Complete the Tennessee Promise Scholarship award 
application no later than November 1 of their senior year 
of high school for the initial year of enrollment. For each 
successive year, the renewal application must be submitted 
no later than July 1 prior to the academic year. 

•	 File a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or 
renewal FAFSA, available at www.fafsa.gov, in each year 
of program participation. Students must file the FAFSA by 
February 15 for fall enrollment or by November 1 for spring 
and summer enrollment. Students enrolled at a TCAT must 
complete the FAFSA by February 15 for summer enrollment.

•	 Be a Tennessee resident as defined by Tenn. Comp. R. & 
Regs. 0240-.02-.02, as promulgated by the Board of Regents. 

•	 Graduate from an eligible Tennessee high school or home 
school program beginning in the spring of 2015 or obtain 
a GED or HiSET diploma prior to reaching 19 years of age. 
Eligible high schools are defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-902 and an 
eligible home school student is defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708.

•	 Attend full-time and continuously at an eligible 
postsecondary institution as defined in T.C.A. § 49-4-708 in 
the fall term immediately following graduation or attainment 
of a GED or HiSET diploma; except that a student enrolling in 
a Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) may enroll 
in the summer prior to the fall term.  

•	 Maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average of 2.0, 
as determined by the eligible postsecondary institution, at 
the end of each academic year if enrolled in an associate’s 
degree program or maintain satisfactory academic progress 
as defined by a TCAT if enrolled at a TCAT.

•	 Prior to fall enrollment, attend two mandatory meetings 
organized by a county’s partnering organization. 

•	 Complete eight hours of community service each 
semester while participating in the program. Service shall 
be performed prior to the beginning of each academic 
semester, including the initial fall semester, in which the 
scholarship is received. 

•	 Complete a diploma or associate’s degree in the amount 
of time remaining before reaching a terminating event if a 
student transfers from one eligible postsecondary institution 
to another.  

•	 Comply with United States Selective Service System 
requirements for registration, if such requirements are 
applicable to the student. 

•	 Be in compliance with federal drug-free rules and laws for 
receiving financial assistance and not be incarcerated.

•	 Not be in default on a federal Title IV or Tennessee 
educational loan and not owe a refund on a federal Title IV or 
a Tennessee student financial aid program. 

•	 Meet the following criteria to be granted a personal or 
medical leave of absence from the scholarship program:

•	 Allowable medical or personal reasons may include illness 

of the student; illness or death of an immediate family 

member; extreme financial hardship of the student or 

student’s immediate family; fulfillment of a religious 

commitment expected of members of that faith; fulfillment 

of required military service; the program of study at a 

Tennessee College of Applied Technology only begins 

in the spring or summer academic term or openings 

are unavailable for the fall academic term; or other 

extraordinary circumstances beyond the student’s control 

where attendance by the student creates a substantial 

hardship. In the event an institution denies a student’s 

request for a medical or personal leave of absence, the 

student may appeal the decision in accordance with these 

rules. The appeals process is explained at:

www.tn.gov/CollegePays/mon_college/tels_appeals_

exception.html

TENNESSEE PROMISE SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
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Tennessee Promise Scholarship 
Termination Criteria:

A student shall be eligible for the Tennessee Promise Scholarship 
until the occurrence of the first of the following events:

•	 The student has earned a diploma or associate’s degree; or

•	 The sum of the number of years the student attended a 
postsecondary institution, exclusive of approved leaves of 
absence, equals two and one-half years from the date of 
the student’s initial enrollment at an eligible postsecondary 
institution. An approved leave of absence of six months or 
less shall not count against the two and one-half years from 
the date of the student’s initial enrollment at an eligible 
postsecondary institution.   

Partnering Organization Requirements:

Partnering organizations that participate in the Tennessee Promise 
Scholarship Program shall meet the following requirements:

•	 Be established as a not-for-profit organization that operates 
as a college access and success program serving Tennessee 
residents, excluding postsecondary institutions receiving 
funding under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program.

•	 Demonstrate annually to TSAC that funding exists within 
the partnering organization’s budget to provide all services 
under the Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program for a 
minimum of one year.  

•	 Agree to provide Tennessee Promise Scholarship Program 
services to all eligible high school, home school, and GED/
HiSET students in a county.

•	 Provide a mentoring program to serve Tennessee Promise 
Scholarship Program participants and obtain a certified 
background check on all mentors working with students.  
The mentoring program shall have a ratio of one volunteer 
mentor to no more than ten eligible students.  This ratio, 
however, shall not apply to partnering organizations 
employing full- or part-time paid mentors or counselors.

•	 Select volunteer mentors prior to December 1 and provide at 
least one mentor training meeting prior to January 31.

•	 Host two meetings for all Tennessee Promise Scholarship 
Program participants prior to March 1 and May 31, 
respectively.

•	 Organize a local advisory council to serve as an advocate 
for the program comprised of at least five members 
including one representative from the LEA, one from the 
county mayor’s office, and one from a local postsecondary 
institution. Organizations which have been in existence 
for a minimum of three (3) years may use existing boards 
or boards of trustees as the local advisory council if the 
board or board of trustees is substantially similar to the 
requirements listed above.

•	 Obtain an insurance policy that limits liability of the 
partnering organization against physical and sexual abuse or 
misconduct.

•	 Adhere to rules promulgated by TSAC.

•	 Enter into a memorandum of understanding with 
TSAC regarding program requirements and partnering 
organization obligations and provide all requested 
information to TSAC as detailed in rule.
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Advisory council: Each partnering organization organizes a 
local advisory council to serve as an advocate for the program. The 
advisory council is comprised of a minimum of five members, with 
at least one member representative from each of the following: the 
local education agency, the county mayor or executive’s office, and 
a local postsecondary institution. 

Associate’s degree: An undergraduate academic degree 
awarded by community colleges, technical colleges, bachelor’s 
degree-granting colleges, and universities upon completion of a 
course of study usually lasting two years or 60 credits.

Certificate program: A sequence, pattern, or group of academic 
credit courses that focuses on an area of specialized knowledge or 
information and has specifically defined outcomes.  Many programs 
are designed for working students who wish to upgrade their skills 
or gain additional certification in a particular area.

Community college: A non-residential, non-profit college 
offering certificate and associate’s degree programs. 

Community service: Any service which benefits the community 
and neither results in payment or compensation, nor directly 
benefits family members. Partnering organizations will provide 
specific guidelines for community service to students receiving the 
scholarship, and students must complete their eight community 
service hours before the start of each academic term.

Eligible student: Any student who graduates from an eligible 
Tennessee high school, completes a Tennessee home school pro-
gram, or, prior to reaching 19 years of age, obtains a GED or HiSET 
diploma can apply for Tennessee Promise.  Students will apply in 
the fall of their high school senior year and begin working with a 
mentor and attending mandatory meetings in their counties in the 
spring of their senior year. The program will launch with the gradu-
ating class of 2015.

Eligible institution: Any of Tennessee’s 27 colleges of 
applied technology, 13 community colleges, or any HOPE eligible 
independent or public four-year university offering an associate’s 
degree or certificate.

Full-time student: A student enrolled in and attending a 
postsecondary educational institution and registered for and taking 
at least twelve semester hours during each semester of attendance 
or the equivalent.

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA): The 
form that must be completed in order to qualify for any type of 
governmental financial aid for higher education.

Last-dollar scholarship: For the purpose of Tennessee 
Promise, a last-dollar scholarship pays the remaining tuition 
and mandatory fees after Pell, TELS, and TSAA funds have been 
awarded.

Mandatory meeting: A meeting organized and held by the 
partnering organization and attended by students and mentors. 
Various college topics including financial aid, application process, 
and FAFSA completion will be discussed at meetings.

Mentor: A mentor serves to help students navigate the college 
application and matriculation processes. Tennessee Promise 
partnering organizations administer the mentoring portion of the 
scholarship. At a minimum, a mentor must be at least 21 years 
of age and pass a background check. Partnering organizations 
will host mandatory student meetings in each county where 
mentors and students will interact. All mentors must be trained by 
a partnering organization prior to mentoring Tennessee Promise 
students.

Partnering organization: A partnering organization is 
an organization that will work with TSAC and postsecondary 
institutions to administer the Tennessee Promise program. 
Partnering organizations will be responsible for providing mentoring 
services, conducting meetings for students regarding various 
college topics (financial aid, application process, FAFSA completion, 
etc.), and approving/reporting community service performed 
by students. These organizations will operate independent of 
state funding. Partnering organizations will also establish local 
Tennessee Promise advisory councils to advocate for the program 
in each county.

Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT): 
Tennessee institutions which provide technical training for workers 
to obtain the technical skills and professional training necessary for 
advancement in the job market. Students completing a program at 
a TCAT can receive certificates and industry certifications.

GLOSSARY
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Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship (TELS): 
Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship program includes all 
scholarships funded by the Tennessee Lottery Education Act. This 
includes, but is not limited to, the Tennessee HOPE Scholarship, 
Tennessee HOPE Access Grant, Aspire Award, the General Assembly 
Merit Scholarship (GAMS), and Wilder-Naifeh Technical Skills Grant. 
Detailed information regarding TELS, TELS eligibility, and a full list 
of TELS scholarships and grants can be found at:
www.tn.gov/collegepays

Tennessee Student Assistance Award (TSAA) program: A 
need-based, state grant program available to Tennessee residents 
who are enrolled (or accepted for enrollment) at least half-time 
at public or eligible non-public postsecondary institutions in 
Tennessee. 

Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation (TSAC): 
TSAC is a state agency that provides financial assistance for 
postsecondary educational opportunities to Tennessee residents 
and other students who have established eligibility in accordance 
with program guidelines. TSAC administers Tennessee Promise, 
with assistance from the partnering organizations.

Tennessee Reconnect: An initiative aimed at helping adults 
earn a postsecondary credential. As part of the Reconnect initiative, 
Tennessee adults will be able to attend and earn a certificate at 
one of Tennessee’s 27 colleges of applied technology (TCATs) 
completely free of tuition and mandatory fees. 

Tennessee Transfer Pathways (TTPs): Advising tools 
designed to help community college students plan for transferring 
to Tennessee public universities or select regionally accredited, 
non-profit, Tennessee private colleges or universities to complete 
their baccalaureate degree. The TTPs also constitute an agreement 
between community colleges and four-year colleges/universities 
confirming that community college courses meet major preparation 
requirements.

Tuition and mandatory fees: Tuition and mandatory fees 
include credit hour charges, activity fees, and other associated 
institutional fees. Tennessee Promise does not cover fees for the 
Regents Online Degree Program, specific programs of study, books, 
or supplies.

GLOSSARY, CONT.
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TENNESSEE PROMISE ANNUAL TIMELINE

November 1

February 15

By March 1
By May 31

In the Summer

In the Spring

Students MUST fill out the application for 
Tennessee Promise by November 1. The 
application is available on www.TNPromise.gov. 

Students must file the FAFSA at www.fafsa.gov 
by February 15. If families haven’t filed taxes, 
estimated income can be used and updated later.

Partnering organizations will host mandatory 
meetings in the spring for students. The first 
meeting will be held prior to March 1. The second 
meeting will be held prior to May 31.

Students must complete 8 hours of pre-approved 
community service prior to the beginning of each 
semester. Partnering organizations will provide 
guidelines and verify community service hours.

Students must apply to and register for classes at 
an eligible college program prior to the beginning 
of classes. The earlier students apply and register, 
the better, to ensure they meet all deadlines from 
the institution. (Partnering organizations may 
recommend applying by February 15.)
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TENNESSEE PROMISE INSTITUTIONS

Chattanooga State Community College
Chattanooga, TN
www.chattanoogastate.edu

Cleveland State Community College
Cleveland, TN
www.clevelandstatecc.edu

Columbia State Community College
Columbia, TN
www.columbiastate.edu

Dyersburg State Community College
Dyersburg, TN
www.dscc.edu

Jackson State Community College
Jackson, TN
www.jscc.edu

Motlow State Community College
Tullahoma, TN
www.mscc.edu

Nashville State Community College
Nashville, TN
www.nscc.edu

Northeast State Community College
Blountville, TN
www.northeaststate.edu

Pellissippi State Community College
Knoxville, TN
www.pstcc.edu

Roane State Community College
Harriman, TN
www.roanestate.edu

Southwest Tennessee Community College
Memphis, TN
www.southwest.tn.edu

Volunteer State Community College
Gallatin, TN
www.volstate.edu

Walters State Community College
Morristown, TN
www.ws.edu

TENNESSEE COMMUNITY COLLEGES

PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES WITH ELIGIBLE TWO-YEAR PROGRAMS*

PRIVATE COLLEGES WITH ELIGIBLE TWO-YEAR PROGRAMS*
Aquinas College
Nashville, TN
www.aquinascollege.edu

Art Institute of Tennessee- Nashville
Nashville, TN
new.artinstitutes.edu/nashville

Bethel University
McKenzie, TN
www.bethelu.edu

Bryan College
Dayton, TN
www.bryan.edu

Carson-Newman University
Jefferson City, TN
www.cn.edu

Cumberland University
Lebanon, TN
www.cumberland.edu

Hiwassee College
Madisonville, TN
www.hiwassee.edu

John A. Gupton College
Nashville, TN
www.guptoncollege.edu

Johnson University
Knoxville, TN
www.johnsonu.edu

Lincoln Memorial University
Harrogate, TN
www.lmunet.edu

Martin Methodist College
Pulaski, TN
www.martinmethodist.edu

South College
Knoxville, TN 
www.southcollegetn.edu

Southern Adventist University
Collegedale, TN
www.southern.edu

Tennessee Temple University
Chattanooga, TN
www.tntemple.edu

Trevecca Nazarene University
Nashville, TN
www.trevecca.edu

Union University
Jackson, TN
www.uu.edu

Welch College
Nashville, TN
www.welch.edu

*These institutions have two-year 
programs which are eligible for 
Tennessee Promise. Four-year programs 
at these institutions are not eligible.

Austin Peay State University
Clarksville, TN
www.apsu.edu

Tennessee State University
Nashville, TN
www.tnstate.edu
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TENNESSEE COLLEGES OF APPLIED TECHNOLOGY (TCATs)
Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Athens
Athens, TN
www.tcatathens.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Chattanooga
Chattanooga, TN
www.chattanoogastate.edu/tcat

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Covington
Covington, TN
www.tcatcovington.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Crossville
Crossville, TN
www.tcatcrossville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Crump
Crump, TN
www.tcatcrump.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Dickson
Dickson, TN
www.tcatdickson.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Elizabethton
Elizabethton, TN
www.tcatelizabethton.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Harriman
Harriman, TN
www.tcatharriman.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Hartsville
Hartsville, TN
www.tcathartsville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Hohenwald
Hohenwald, TN
www.tcathohenwald.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Jacksboro
Jacksboro, TN
www.tcatjacksboro.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Jackson
Jackson, TN
www.tcatjackson.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Knoxville
Knoxville, TN
www.tcatknoxville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Livingston
Livingston, TN
www.tcatlivingston.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- McKenzie
McKenzie, TN
www.tcatmckenzie.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- McMinnville
McMinnville, TN
www.tcatmcminnville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Memphis 
Memphis, TN
www.tcatmemphis.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Morristown
Morristown, TN
www.tcatmorristown.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Murfreesboro
Murfreesboro, TN
www.tcatmurfreesboro.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Nashville
Nashville, TN
www.tcatnashville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Newbern
Newbern, TN
www.tcatnewbern.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Oneida/Huntsville
Huntsville, TN
www.tcatoneida.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Paris
Paris, TN
www.tcatparis.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Pulaski 
Pulaski, TN
www.tcatpulaski.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Ripley
Ripley, TN
www.tcatripley.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Shelbyville
Shelbyville, TN
www.tcatshelbyville.edu

Tennessee College of Applied Technology- Whiteville
Whiteville, TN
www.tcatwhiteville.edu
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S E C T I O N  2

Implementing 
Tennessee Promise
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Integrating Tennessee Promise 
into Events
Tennessee Promise Pep Rally/Kickoff
A Tennessee Promise kickoff event or pep rally is a great way to 
inform your students of Tennessee Promise and to encourage a 
college-going culture in your school. This event can include just your 
seniors or your entire student body; it’s also a great opportunity 
to invite community members, mentors, your county’s partnering 
organization, teachers, and parents to help build school-wide 
excitement and enthusiasm around going to college.

Your kickoff event should be representative of your school and 
students. Some activity ideas are: 

•	 Invite a motivational speaker or alumnus of your school to 
talk to students about college

•	 Host a panel of recent graduates to discuss their 
successful transition into college

•	 Ask communications students at your high school or local 
university to make a short video about Tennessee Promise

•	 Introduce members of your school’s staff and your 
partnering organization’s staff who can help students 
through the college-going process

•	 Ask your school’s staff and other staff to wear college gear

College App Week
College Application Week is a statewide event sponsored by 
CollegeforTN.org and the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. 
The goal of College App Week is to build excitement and 
enthusiasm around the college application process and provide 
every graduating senior with the opportunity to apply. Though there 
is a focus placed on first-generation students and students who 
may not otherwise apply to college, all students, from kindergarten 
to 12th grade, are encouraged to participate and start making their 
college plans.

College App Week is a great time to talk to your seniors about 
Tennessee Promise and encourage all students who are interested 
in a certificate or two-year program to apply for the Tennessee 
Promise scholarship!  Consider marking the Tennessee Promise 
application page (www.TNPromise.gov) as a “Favorite” or 
“Bookmarked” page on the computers being used during College 
App Week to allow students to quickly navigate to and complete the 
application after they have completed their college applications. 

If you would like to register your school as a College App Week 
location and receive the College App Week Site Coordinator 
Handbook and College App Week promotional materials, you can 
find more information and the registration link here: 
secure.collegefortn.org/Home/College_App_Week/_default.aspx

If you have any questions about College App Week, please contact 
Kate Derrick (kate.derrick@tn.gov, 615-532-0428) or Mary Laphen 
(mary.laphen@tn.gov, 615-253-1155).

College Goal Tennessee 
College Goal Tennessee is a non-profit program that provides free 
information and assistance to Tennessee families applying for 
financial assistance for higher education. College Goal Tennessee 
mobilizes financial aid professionals from Tennessee colleges, 
universities, career colleges, and technology centers to help 
families of college-bound students complete the Free Application 
for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), the form used to apply for federal 
aid and for state aid such as the HOPE scholarship and TSAA. 
As you prepare for and advertise the College Goal Tennessee event 
in your area, we encourage you to reach out to your Tennessee 
Promise students and remind them their FAFSA must be completed 
by February 15th. If your event is being held before February 
15th, encourage your Tennessee Promise students to attend and 
complete the essential step of completing their FAFSA at your local 
College Goal Tennessee event. 

To learn more about College Goal Tennessee, please visit: www.
tn.gov/collegegoaltennessee or contact your TSAC outreach 
specialist to schedule a workshop at your high school. You can find 
outreach specialist contact information here: 
www.tn.gov/tsac/About_Us/directory.html

IDEAS FOR PROMOTING TENNESSEE PROMISE
IN YOUR SCHOOL
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College Signing Day
College Signing Day is a statewide event sponsored by the 
Tennessee Higher Education Commission. We encourage high 
schools to devote one day in the spring to celebrate their seniors 
who are continuing to postsecondary education. The highlight of 
this day is often a school-wide assembly or pep rally during which 
each senior’s college choice (college is defined as any type of 
formal postsecondary training) is announced and celebrated among 
the school community. The goal of the event is to celebrate and 
encourage the seniors who are pursuing postsecondary education, 
while also raising enthusiasm and awareness of college options 
and attendance among the entire student body.

We encourage you to include your partnering organization in 
College Signing Day. This is a great opportunity to invite local 
mentors to attend the event and support their students. Your 
partnering organization may also want to recognize their Tennessee 
Promise students with a certificate at College Signing Day or Senior 
Awards Ceremony. 

For more information and resources to plan your College Signing 
Day, please contact Mary Laphen (mary.laphen@tn.gov, 
615-253-1155).

Parent Outreach
When talking about scholarship opportunities, reaching out to 
parents can be as important as reaching out to students. We 
recommend hosting a “Paying for College” Parent Night at your 
school to tell parents about Tennessee Promise and how their 
students can benefit from it and other available state aid programs, 
such as Tennessee Reconnect, the HOPE scholarship, and TSAA. On 
TNPromise.gov, you will find a PowerPoint slide deck, which can be 
used at your parent meetings. 

TSAC can assist you in hosting a parent night. Contact TSAC to 
schedule an outreach specialist to attend the event and talk 
about available financial aid in Tennessee. You can find outreach 
specialist contact information here: 
www.tn.gov/tsac/About_Us/directory.html

We also recommend using your school’s automated call or 
text message system to remind parents of Tennessee Promise 
application and financial aid deadlines. 
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In-School Promotion Ideas
Get the Word Out
Use your school’s morning announcements to promote Tennessee 
Promise. Particularly, as deadlines or meetings are approaching, 
remind your students about requirements for Tennessee Promise. 
If your school has a morning news program, coordinate with the 
producers to feature segments on Tennessee Promise. Once 
students have been accepted and assigned a mentor, invite 
students and their mentors to give brief interviews. Pitch an article 
on Tennessee Promise to your school newspaper. Topics could 
include encouraging students to apply for the scholarship or a 
feature of Tennessee Promise students and mentors.

Feature Alumni
Encourage recent alumni of your high school to come back to your 
school for a panel to talk about their experiences at a community 
college or Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT). 
Featuring recent alumni, who students will trust to “tell it like it is”, 
can be a powerful tool in encouraging students to go to college. 
Connect with your school newspaper or school news program to 
interview the recent alumni about their college experiences.  

Wall Clings and Posters
Put the Tennessee Promise wall cling and posters on the wall of 
a high traffic area in your school. The posters provide valuable 
information about the application process for Tennessee Promise, 
while the wall clings increase visibility and familiarity of the 
scholarship. To use the wall cling, gently separate the wall cling 
from the attached white paper and place on the wall.  The wall cling 
will not damage walls or paint and can be moved from place to 
place as often as you choose.  

Host Homeroom Workshops
Teachers can host workshops during homeroom to talk to seniors 
about Tennessee Promise and apply for the scholarship. These 
workshops are a great opportunity for teachers to talk to students 
about the importance of college, answer questions they have about 
college and the application process, and share their own college 
experiences.

Communicate
Hand out the Tennessee Promise information cards to students and 
their parents. You should have enough information cards to provide 
them to both seniors and their parents. Give cards out at a school-
wide event, send them home with report cards, or hand them out 
in homerooms. You can also have a stack of them available in your 
school’s front office.

Send letters or e-mail about Tennessee Promise to all parents, 
students, and school staff. See the templates provided on pages 
30, 31, and 32. 

You can also host a family information night to talk to students 
and families who want to learn more about Tennessee Promise. 
Invite your local partnering organization and/or a TSAC outreach 
specialist to speak at the event. You can use the PowerPoint 
template provided on the Tennessee Promise website. 

Individual Meetings with Targeted Students
If you have students that you believe would especially benefit 
from Tennessee Promise or additional college information, set up 
individual meetings with them to discuss the scholarship. Work 
with your partnering organization to check that these students are 
meeting all requirements.
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Sample Tennessee Promise Promotion Timeline

•	Hang Tennessee Promise wall clings and posters in your school.
•	Send out Tennessee Promise emails and letters (see page 30, 31, and 

32 for templates). 
•	Distribute Tennessee Promise information cards to seniors and their 

families.
•	Host a Tennessee Promise Kickoff (see page 14 for kickoff ideas).

•	Host an alumni panel featuring students in two-year programs.
•	Feature Tennessee Promise stories in the student newspaper.
•	Host a family night to give parents and families more information 

about Tennessee Promise.

•	Include Tennessee Promise in your College Application Week activities.
•	Host homeroom workshops leading up to the Tennessee Promise 

application deadline.

•	Encourage students to participate in College Goal Tennessee and file 
their FAFSA.

•	Pitch the student newspaper with profiles of Tennessee Promise 
mentors.

•	Attend the partnering organization meetings with your students and 
introduce yourself to mentors.

•	Host a College Signing Day to recognize students’ postsecondary plans.

August

September

October

January

April/May
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Using the Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation Student Portal, students can access 
updated and personalized information about their application(s) for state financial aid. They can 
check the status of their awards, contact TSAC with questions, or update their profile information. 
To register for an account and access the portal:

TSAC PORTAL INSTRUCTIONS

Go to www.tn.gov/collegepays and click “TSAC Student Financial Aid Portal.”

Click the “red” text to create an account.
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Complete the application, “check” the box to accept the terms and conditions, 
and click “create my account.”

Next, click “Click here to log in.”
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Enter the username created and click “Log In.”

Answer your challenge questions. Be sure to click the box beside the statement reading “Regis-
ter this computer to skip this step next time...” and click “Continue.”
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Then, you will see the image you selected along with another box asking for a password. 
Enter your password and click “Log In”.

Click “Apply for Scholarships” to access online applications for TN Promise, 
the Dual Enrollment Grant, Ned McWherter Scholars, etc.
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TENNESSEE PROMISE
APPLICATION ROSTER INSTRUCTIONS

In e*GRandS, first (1), click “Reports” to access Dual Enrollment Grant Status report (the screen 
below). Next (2), click “Dual Enrollment Grant Status Report” to highlight; make sure appropri-
ate academic year is selected; and finally (3), click “Generate Report.”

1.

2.

3.

As a counselor, you can access updated student information through the e*GRandS system. 
Starting in the 2014-2015 academic year, you can pull a roster of students who have applied 
for Tennessee Promise or any other financial aid grants through TSAC. Below is an example of 
how to run the Dual Enrollment Grant status report. The process for pulling a Tennessee Promise 
report will be very similar.
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S E C T I O N  3

Resources
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What is Tennessee Promise?
Tennessee Promise offers up to two and a half years of tuition-free 
community or technical college to Tennessee high school graduates 
beginning with the Class of 2015. The program provides eligible 
students a last-dollar scholarship, which covers tuition and mandatory 
fees not covered by the Pell grant, TELS, and TSAA. Students will also 
be assigned a partnering organization and mentor who will provide 
guidance and assistance as the student enters higher education. 
Students must participate with a partnering organization to access 
Tennessee Promise dollars.

Who is eligible for Tennessee Promise?
To be eligible to receive a Tennessee Promise Scholarship, a student 
must:

•	 Be a Tennessee resident

•	 Graduate from an eligible Tennessee high school, complete 
a Tennessee home school program, or, prior to reaching 19 
years of age, obtain a GED or HiSET diploma

•	 Complete the Tennessee Promise application at                
www.TNPromise.gov by November 1

•	 Apply to and enroll full-time in a community college, college 
of applied technology, or eligible program the fall after 
graduation from high school

•	 Meet all deadlines and requirements before enrolling

What are the service 
requirements?
Community service is an important component of Tennessee Promise. 
A student participating in the program must perform a minimum of 
eight hours of community service prior to each academic term the stu-
dent receives the scholarship. Partnering organizations must approve 
community service activities in advance.

Any service performed by a student which benefits the community 
may be counted, except: 

•	 Community service performed prior to high school 
graduation

•	 Work resulting in payment or remuneration of any kind

•	 Work directly benefiting family members

How are funds distributed?
Students will never directly receive cash from Tennessee Promise. 
Once Pell, TELS, and TSAA have been applied, scholarship funds 
covering the remaining costs of tuition and mandatory fees will be 
sent directly to institutions for students who have met all eligibility 
requirements.

Requirements of 
Tennessee Promise

November 1
Apply to Tennessee Promise at 

www.TNPromise.gov

February 15
Complete the Free Application for Federal 

Student Aid (FAFSA) at www.fafsa.gov

By March 1
Attend first mandatory meeting 

coordinated by a partnering organization

By May 31
Attend second mandatory meeting 

coordinated by partnering organization

In the Spring
Apply to and register for classes at a 

community or technical college 
(your partnering organization may ask you to 

apply by February 15)

Before Start of Term
Complete 8 hours of community service by 

the first day of class
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What information do I need when I fill out the FAFSA?

You should have the following information and documents with you as you complete the 2015-16 
Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA):

	 Student’s Social Security number

	 Parent(s)’ Social Security number(s) if, per FAFSA, student is dependent

	 Student’s driver’s license number if student has one

	 Student’s Alien Registration Number if student is not a U.S. citizen

	 2014 tax information (if required to file) for student (and spouse, if married) and 
parent(s) if, per FAFSA, student is dependent

•	To complete and submit the 2015-16 FAFSA in January, use estimated tax 
    information (i.e. 2013 tax return, 2014 W-2 information, or last paystub)

	 Records of untaxed income, such as child support received and veterans 
   noneducation benefits, for student and parent(s) if, per FAFSA, student is dependent

	 Information on checking and savings account balances; investments; and business and 
farm assets for student and parent(s) if, per FAFSA, student is dependent

	 Student’s Federal Student Aid PIN (may be obtained during application)

	 Parent’s Federal Student Aid PIN if, per FAFSA, student is dependent 

   (may be obtained during application)

Once you’ve submitted the FAFSA:

	 If you’re selected for FAFSA verification, please complete the verification by June 30th. 
Verification is an important part of the financial aid process and failing to 

     complete a verification request could delay receipt of funds.

FAFSA CHECKLIST
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Student eligibility and 
requirements
Who is eligible for Tennessee Promise?

Any high school senior, beginning with the Class of 2015, who 
graduates from an eligible Tennessee high school, completes 
a Tennessee home school program, or prior to his of her 19th 
birthday, obtains a GED or HiSET diploma, can apply for the 
Promise. Students will apply by November 1 of their high school 
senior year and begin working with a mentor and attending 
mandatory meetings in their counties by January. 

What information will students need to fill out the 
application?

For the Tennessee Promise application, students will need their full 
first name, last name, middle initial, social security number, date of 
birth, full address, county, email address, gender, race, home phone 
number, cell phone number, school name, graduation date, and an 
idea of which community college, college of applied technology, or 
eligible two-year program they would like to attend.

If students and their families haven’t filed taxes by 
February 15, can they still file the FAFSA before the 
Tennessee Promise deadline?

Yes. Students can file the FAFSA anytime between January 1 
and February 15 and still be eligible for Tennessee Promise. For 
students whose families have not filed taxes by February 15, they 
can use estimates when filing the FAFSA. Soon after filing taxes, 
students should go in and update their FAFSA with recently filed tax 
information.

Some students may also be asked to verify their FAFSA information. 
If a student is asked for verification, he or she should complete the 
verification by June 30th to ensure timely receipt of funds.

How long after high school graduation will students 
have in order to be eligible for Tennessee Promise?

To be eligible for the scholarship, a student must attend and enroll 
full-time in an eligible postsecondary program in the fall term 
following graduation from an eligible high school or homeschool 
program, or completion of a GED or HiSET diploma, provided that 
the diploma was earned before the student reached nineteen years 
of age.

Are GED recipients eligible for Tennessee Promise?

Students who complete a GED or HiSet diploma must enroll full-
time in an eligible postsecondary program in the fall after they 
receive their diploma, provided that the diploma was earned before 
the student reached nineteen years of age.

Do non-U.S. citizens qualify for Tennessee Promise?

No. In order to be eligible, students must be able to complete the 
FAFSA as well as qualify for in-state tuition.

What other scholarships are available for students not 
eligible for Tennessee Promise, such as students who 
graduated prior to 2015?

Additional information on scholarships available to students who 
don’t qualify for Tennessee Promise can be found at: 
www.tn.gov/collegepays

Tennessee Reconnect is an adult initiative aimed at helping adults 
earn a postsecondary credential. As part of the Reconnect initiative, 
Tennessee adults will be able to attend and earn a certificate at a 
Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT) completely free 
of tuition and mandatory fees. For more information on Tennessee 
Reconnect, visit: 

www.driveto55.org/tennessee-reconnect

How do students renew the scholarship?

Once in the program, students must do the following to retain their 
scholarship:

•	 Maintain a 2.0 GPA if at a community college or eligible 
program at a four-year institution or satisfactory academic 
progress at a TCAT

•	 Complete a renewal application at www.TNPromise.gov by 
July 1 prior to the academic year

•	 Complete 8 hours of community service per semester 
enrolled, to be completed before the start of the term

•	 Complete the FAFSA by February 15 each year the student 
participates in the program

Partnering organizations will work with students to ensure they 
get full information about renewing Tennessee Promise each year, 
including approval and verification of community service hours.

FAQ’S
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Funding
How does the last-dollar scholarship work?

Tennessee Promise is a last-dollar scholarship that funds any 
remaining tuition and mandatory fees at TCATs, two-year, and four-
year schools offering associate’s degrees once Pell, TELS, and TSAA 
have all been applied. 

Students who attend a four-year public or independent university 
offering an associate’s degree will receive a last-dollar scholarship 
based on the average tuition and mandatory fees at Tennessee 
public community colleges. The average tuition at the public 
community colleges in 2014-2015 is $3,985.

What costs does Tennessee Promise cover?

Tennessee Promise only covers remaining tuition and mandatory 
fees after Pell, TELS, and TSAA have been applied. Tennessee 
Promise funds cannot be used for books or other indirect costs, 
such as transportation, books, living expenses, etc.

Does Tennessee Promise cover remedial education?

Yes. Tennessee Promise will cover remedial classes if a student 
should need to take them.

How will the funds be administered?

Students will never directly receive cash from Tennessee Promise. 
Once Pell, TELS, and TSAA have been applied, the Tennessee 
Student Assistance Corporation (TSAC) will send the funds covering 
the remaining costs of tuition and mandatory fees directly to 
institutions for students who have met all eligibility requirements.

How does Tennessee Promise change the HOPE Lottery 
scholarship award amounts?

Changes to the HOPE Lottery scholarship only affect students 
graduating with or after the Class of 2015. 

For students attending a community college, the new award 
amount will increase from $1,000 to $1,500 per semester.  
Students attending four-year institutions will receive $1,750 per 
semester as freshmen and sophomores and $2,250 per semester 
as juniors and seniors.

Institutions and programs
What institutions accept Tennessee Promise?

Students can use Tennessee Promise at any of Tennessee’s 27 
colleges of applied technology (TCATs), 13 community colleges, or 
any HOPE eligible independent or public four-year university offering 
an associate’s degree or certificate.

For a full list of eligible institutions, please see pages 11 and 12.

Can Tennessee Promise be used toward a four-year 
program?

No. Tennessee Promise funds can only be used toward an 
associate’s degree or a certificate at a Tennessee College of 
Applied Technology. However, the Tennessee Transfer Pathways 
ensure that students can apply credits from an associate’s degree 
or certificate to easily transfer to a four-year program at a public 
institution without duplicative course requirements. To learn more 
about the Tennessee Transfer Pathways, visit:

www.tntransferpathway.org

Can students transfer to a four-year program or 
institution once they have completed their degree or 
certificate through Tennessee Promise?

Yes. The Tennessee Transfer Pathways ensure that students may 
follow a prescribed curriculum that is universally transferable, 
marked by clarity, and available for students to review on the first 
day of enrollment. 

Currently, there are 49 approved transfer pathways, spanning 28 
disciplines and accepted at all public institutions in Tennessee. 
Additionally, many private institutions accept these pathways. More 
information about participating institutions can be found at: 
www.tntransferpathway.org/transfer-campus
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Partnering organizations and 
mentors
What is the role of the partnering organizations?

Partnering organizations will work with the Tennessee Student 
Assistance Corporation (TSAC) and the postsecondary institutions to 
administer Tennessee Promise. Partnering organizations will:

•	 Provide mentoring services

•	 Conduct the required meetings for students

•	 Approve and report community service performed by 
students

•	 Provide notification to TSAC when Tennessee Promise 
participants have met all scholarship requirements

•	 Establish local Tennessee Promise advisory councils to 
advocate for the program in the county

A list of approved partnering organizations for Tennessee Promise 
is on page 5.

How were the partnering organizations selected?

In July 2014, county mayors and executives determined which 
eligible partnering organization would administer Tennessee 
Promise in their counties.

How does a student get a mentor?

Each student who completes the initial Tennessee Promise 
application on www.TNPromise.gov will be assigned a mentor. 
Partnering organizations will be responsible for reaching out to 
students to match them to a local mentor.

Who are the mentors?

Depending on which partnering organization is working with a 
county, mentors will either be paid employees of the partnering 
organization or volunteer mentors from the local community.
Volunteer mentors must be at least 21 years of age and pass 
a background check prior to being assigned to a student. The 
mentors are recruited from the local community and are all trained 
by the partnering organization prior to meeting their students.

What is the role of the mentor?

The role of the mentor is to help reduce the barriers associated 
with college access by encouraging students and reminding them 
of requirements and deadlines. Mentors are asked to be in touch 
with their students at least once per month, either in person or via 
phone, text message, or email. 



29

You can use this sheet if you would like to track where your students are with Tennessee Promise. 
An Excel version of this spreadsheet is also available on www.TNPromise.gov.
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SAMPLE TEXT FOR COMMUNICATION TO STUDENTS

As a senior at [high school name], you are eligible for the Tennessee Promise scholarship, 
which provides two years of tuition-free education at a community college or college of applied 
technology. Tennessee Promise is a last-dollar scholarship, which means it will cover all costs 
of tuition and mandatory fees after all gift aid (Pell, TELS, and TSAA) has been applied. As a 
Tennessee Promise student, you will also be paired with a partnering organization and a mentor 
who will support you during the college application process.  Students must participate with the 
partnering organization to access Tennessee Promise dollars.

Any student can apply for Tennessee Promise by November 1 at www.TNPromise.gov.  Beyond the 

application, you must meet the following deadlines and requirements:

1.	 Apply by November 1. You can apply for Tennessee Promise at www.TNPromise.gov.

2.	 File the FAFSA by February 15. You must file your Free Application for Federal Student Aid 

(FAFSA) by February 15 at www.fafsa.gov.

3.	 Attend mandatory meetings by March 1 and May 31. You are required to attend the first 

and second mandatory meetings coordinated by [insert mentoring organization name: 

tnAchieves/Ayers Foundation/REDI].

4.	 You will need to complete 8 hours of community service for each semester you receive 

Tennessee Promise funding, including the summer before you begin college. Check with 

your local partnering organization for their specific community service deadlines.

5.	 Apply to and register for classes at an eligible program. Before the fall semester begins, you 

will need to apply to a community college, college of applied technology, or eligible program 

at a four-year institution. Partnering organizations may ask you to apply to an eligible 

college program by February 15. Scholarship funds will be paid directly to the school once 

your enrollment is confirmed.

For more information on Tennessee Promise and to apply, please visit www.TNPromise.gov. 
Remember, if you do not complete the Tennessee Promise application and requirements, but still 
choose to attend a community college or technical school, you will be responsible for all tuition and 
mandatory fees not covered by other scholarships or financial aid.

If you have any questions about Tennessee Promise, please contact [partnering organization 
contact name] at [phone number] or [email address]. 
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As a senior at [high school name], your student  is eligible for the Tennessee Promise scholarship, 
which provides two years of tuition-free education at a community college or college of applied 
technology. Tennessee Promise is a last-dollar scholarship for tuition and mandatory fees, meaning 
it will cover any costs not met from Pell, TELS, or TSAA. As part of the program, your student will 
be paired with a partnering organization and mentor who will support them during the college 
application process. Your student must participate with a partnering organization to access Tennessee 
Promise dollars.

Any student can apply for Tennessee Promise by November 1 at www.TNPromise.gov.  
To be eligible for the scholarship, students must meet the following deadlines:

1.	 Apply by November 1. You can apply for Tennessee Promise at www.TNPromise.gov.

2.	 File the FAFSA by February 15. Students must file the Free Application for Federal Student 

Aid (FAFSA) by February 15 at www.fafsa.gov. For families who have not yet filed taxes for 

the prior year, estimates can be used on the FAFSA and updated once taxes have been filed.

3.	 Attend mandatory meetings by March 1 and May 31. Your student will be required to attend 

the first and second mandatory meetings coordinated by [insert mentoring organization 

name: tnAchieves/Ayers Foundation/REDI]. The meeting will be held at the high school.

4.	 Your student will need to complete 8 hours of community service for each semester they 
receive Tennessee Promise funding, including the summer before they begin college. Check 
with your local partnering organization for their specific community service deadlines.

5.	 Apply to and register for classes at an eligible program. Before the fall semester begins, 

your student must apply to a community college, college of applied technology, or eligible 

program at a four-year institution. Some partnering organizations may ask students to apply 

to an eligible college program by February 15. Scholarship funds will be paid directly to the 

school once his or her enrollment is confirmed.

For more information on Tennessee Promise and to apply, please visit www.TNPromise.gov. 
Remember, if your student does not complete the Tennessee Promise application and requirements, 
but still chooses to attend a community college, college of applied technology, or two-year program 
at an eligible four-year institution, he or she will be responsible for all tuition and fees not covered by 
other scholarships or financial aid.

If you have any questions about Tennessee Promise, please contact [partnering organization contact 
name] at [phone number] or [email address]. 

SAMPLE TEXT FOR COMMUNICATION TO PARENTS/FAMILIES
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SAMPLE TEXT FOR COMMUNICATION TO TEACHERS

For the first time in Tennessee, graduating seniors have the opportunity to attend a community 
college or college of applied technology free of tuition and fees under Tennessee Promise. The 
scholarship covers two years of tuition and mandatory fees at a Tennessee community college, 
Tennessee College of Applied Technology (TCAT), or an eligible two-year program at a four-year 
college or university.  Tennessee Promise is a last-dollar scholarship to cover costs not met from 
Pell, TELS, or TSAA. As part of the program, students will be paired with a partnering organization 
and mentor who will support them during the college application process. Students must 
participate with a partnering organization to access Tennessee Promise dollars.

Talk to your students about Tennessee Promise and encourage them to apply for the scholarship. 
For students planning to attend a two-year program or college of applied technology, Tennessee 
Promise will provide them with a valuable scholarship and a meaningful mentorship opportunity. 

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must meet the following deadlines:

1.	 Apply by November 1. Students can apply for Tennessee Promise at www.TNPromise.gov.

2.	 File the FAFSA by February 15. Students must file the Free Application for Federal Student 
Aid (FAFSA) by February 15 at www.fafsa.gov. 

3.	 Attend mandatory meetings by March 1 and May 31. Student will be required to attend 
the first and second mandatory meetings coordinated by [insert mentoring organization 
name: tnAchieves/Ayers Foundation/REDI]. The meeting will be held at the high school.

4.	 Students will need to complete 8 hours of community service for each semester they 
receive Tennessee Promise funding, including the summer before they begin college. 
Students will need to check with the local partnering organization for specific community 
service deadlines.

5.	 Apply to and register for classes at an eligible program. Before the fall semester begins, 
students need to apply to a community college, college of applied technology, or other 
eligible program at a four-year institution. Some partnering organizations may ask 
students to apply to an eligible college program by February 15. Scholarship funds will be 
paid directly to the school once his or her enrollment is confirmed.

For more information on Tennessee Promise, please visit www.TNPromise.gov. 

If you have any questions about Tennessee Promise, or if any of your students have questions, 
please contact [partnering organization contact name] at [phone number] or [email address]. 
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